Gathering Dice

One question per post, please!

Moderator: Snag

Gathering Dice

Postby matser » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:06 am

The paragraph on Gather[ing] Dice (page 118) sort of suggests that the defending player has to follow the acting player in the order of sources from which he gathers dice, at least until the acting player passes. Is this intended, or is the defending player free to utilise sources in any order, regardless of what the acting player does?
matser
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:22 am

Re: Gathering Dice

Postby Snag » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:26 am

They can be gathered in any order, depending on what sources the PC has available to them. If it's a character-versus-character risk, then the instigator of the conflict sorts their dice first. If it's a contested risk where both parties happen to be seeking the same information or going after the same item, just go in order of who spoke up first.

And really, that's more of a familiarization technique than anything. Once your players have gotten the hang of how contested risks work, they'll be able to automatically assemble the dice without having to announce 'Virtue/Aspect/Devotion/Artifact/Etc'. Hopefully, we all have fellow players we can trust to that extent, anyway.
Snag, O.T.D.O
Caffeine enabler
Blooded of the Raven? No? Damnation.

My Plains produce Win!
User avatar
Snag
Moderator
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:30 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Gathering Dice

Postby matser » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:33 am

Ok, although without taking turns in dice gathering in an contested risk, it gets a little harder to judge if you want to spend that style point on an invoke or tag.
matser
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:22 am

Re: Gathering Dice

Postby Snag » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:35 am

Very true. All depends on how you wish to run your game.
Snag, O.T.D.O
Caffeine enabler
Blooded of the Raven? No? Damnation.

My Plains produce Win!
User avatar
Snag
Moderator
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:30 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Gathering Dice

Postby JohnWick » Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:17 am

matser wrote:Ok, although without taking turns in dice gathering in an contested risk, it gets a little harder to judge if you want to spend that style point on an invoke or tag.


That's the intention. :P
The Reverend John Wick, PhD, D.M., KoAL, G.M., ST, Narr., G.A.M.E.R., Master Mason
User avatar
JohnWick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:04 pm

Re: Gathering Dice

Postby gains » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:36 pm

And it is awesome!
gains
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:56 am


Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron